Justify Your Justice

Once united, a nation stands

Divided against itself

And where can it turn now

For a justice that never was?

I think of the streets

Of a home I have only seen

Less than a handful of times

I picture the flames that rise

The orange crack of burning

Revenge, licking at sun-blackened skin

This is my country?

My memories send me false

Pictures of quaint stores

And yellowed sandstorms

That drive everyone in, family

Huddled in a dark room, the

Ticking of idle generators

Our only soundtrack

Now the orchestra is led

By tyrants, conductors who

Wave their empty words around

Enough so that they keep the people

At bay, so that no one dares to

Speak against this justice

That has burned our blood

Alive

Leave a Reply

