T.G.I.F

Ahhhh, Fridays. 

I don’t know what it is about Fridays, but I almost always find myself extra motivated and inspired right before the weekend. And then, of course, the weekend actually comes and all that motivation goes to waste because, really, it’s just so easy to get distracted. I haven’t watched Modern Family in a while, I’ll just catch up and then I can do something useful. Oh my God I haven’t had homemade pancakes in so long! I’m totally making some. Hey, you guys wanna watch a movie? 

I don’t always have the attention span of a hyper dog, but there’s an endless supply of things around us that keep us from doing what we set out to do. I’ll sit at my desk, intent on getting another chapter done, and I’ll remember that I didn’t check Poets and Writers for updates, or researched the best MFA programs in the country. It’s always something. Of course, there are days when an idea formulates in my mind and I’ll sit down, fingers flying over the keyboard until I finally look up and realize that the sun has set. But those days are few and far between. Most of the time I have to beg the wheels in my brain to churn away so that they can spurt something out. Preferably something of value. 

So, Fridays. I like to think that they carry a kind of sacred importance for me, as far as incentive goes. Which reminds me, I should probably stop blogging and work on my story… 

Leave a Reply

