“Freedom”

Give me a taste of freedom

For I’d like to take a sip

A chance to walk outside of

This life’s insistent grip

 

What dreams lie before me

Or are there dreams at all?

I’d like to rise and touch the sky

Before I reach my fall

 

A taste, that’s all I ask for

My heart knows not its greed

Where can I find a road on which

My own dreams can proceed?

 

A taste, feeling nothing

But the rain upon my skin

And perhaps a freedom outside—

As well as deep within

 

Give me a taste of freedom

To liberate my will

Lend me a cup of liberty

So I can take my fill

 

To take a sip of freedom

That’s all I’d like to do

A taste of rights defended

And feelings born anew 

2 thoughts on ““Freedom”

Leave a Reply

