“Captive”

They take me by surprise, my captors

 

And I, fool that I am, berate myself

 

For having forgotten to lock the doors, once again

 

And yet, while I scowl upon my predicament

 

I know that locked doors and hostility

 

Will never keep these uninvited guests at bay

 

Instead I sigh and, choosing to forgo lamentation

 

Give in to that passion that so often has taken control.

 

My fingers, not of their own will, grasp the pen

 

My mind, slave of these guards that stand at attention

 

Unlocks its gates and succumbs to their will

 

These words that knock aside all other thoughts

 

And attach themselves to me like vines to walls

 

These tormentors that allow me no rest

 

Until I have delivered the message to their liking

 

And done my duties well. Alas, I wish I knew

 

How I might gain some authority over these intruders

 

Yet, and dare I confess such things!

 

Without them I would be a mere shadow of myself

 

Left to wander, lost and raving

 

In a world where sadness rules and Muses lie, forgotten

Leave a Reply

